How to Review Permissions for Google App Script

Something I tripped up on, but I hope I can help you can avoid

Michael Huskey
3 min readApr 22, 2021
Photo by heylagostechie on Unsplash

You have just written your first app in Google App Script and you are super excited to use it. You click Run and then you get this pop-up.

Review Permissions Pop-Up

I know this first time I saw this I clicked “Cancel.” I think I am just hardwired after watching Snowden and The Social Dilemma to always click cancel when I see one of these pop-ups.

But no need to fear as long as you are writing the script or you are getting it from a trusted source this isn’t something you should be overly concerned about.

If you are someone who tends to be more cautious or you are using the library for work related purposes I would make sure you or someone you know takes a look at the software to make sure there isn’t anything malicious in the code.

Step by Step Instructions

With a basic description of what is happening.

Step 1: Determine which Google Account Your File is in

You will select the Google Account in which the file you are attempting to have you App Script edit is located.

Step 2: Going into Advanced Permissions

At first glance it might look like you can’t do anything on this screen. That’s at least what I thought when I orginally I saw this message. However, if you click on advanced you will get more options.

Step 3: Trusting the developer

This is asking you do you trust the person you wrote this app script. If you wrote it I hope so, but also it should be noted if you used 3rd party libraries you are also saying you are trusting them too.

Step 4: What the App is Doing

In this section Google is telling you all the stuff your app will be doing. In this example it is simply editing a spreadsheet. But the more complex your scripts get this list can get longer.

Step 5: Security Email from Google

After you do this you will get an email from Google telling you that you granted access to your Google Account. There is no additional information in that email that you have not seen in prior steps.

You have successfully given you your app permission to interact with your Google Account!

I hope this helps and if there is anything that needs to be corrected in the article make sure to put it in the comments section and I be sure to issue a correction.

--

--

Michael Huskey

Writing on topics that interest me. Currently those topics are personal finance, tech and business